The American Australian Council is a bipartisan, nonprofit institution dedicated to advancing the American-Australian relationship.


The American Australian Council is a bipartisan, nonprofit 501(c)(3) foundation governed by a volunteer board of directors composed of former members of Congress; senior political appointees from both major political parties; top government relations and public policy leaders; and business enterprise entrepreneurs. We are supported by an involved foundational membership, sponsors, an advisory board, and staff.

Council Officers

American Australian Council Barry S. Jackson

Barry S. Jackson

Chairman, American Australian Council 
Managing Director
The Lindsey Group

American Australian Council The Honorable Robert S. Walker

The Honorable Robert S. Walker

Vice Chairman, American Australian Council
Chief Executive Officer
MoonWalker Associates

American Australian Council Tony Podesta

Tony Podesta

Treasurer & Founding Chairman, American Australian Council

American Australian Council Barbara Weisel

Barbara Weisel

Secretary, American Australian Council 
Rock Creek Global Advisors

Council Directors

American Australian Council Ernest Z. Bower

Ernest Z. Bower

President and CEO
Bower Group Asia

American Australian Council Michael Thawley

Mary Kissel

Executive Vice President and Senior Policy Advisor
Stephens Inc.

American Australian Council Larry Irving

Larry Irving

President and CEO
The Irving Group

American Australian Council Michael Thawley

Michael Thawley

Capital Group International

American Australian Council The Honorable Kevin G. Nealer

The Honorable Kevin G. Nealer

The Scowcroft Group

Emeritus Board Members

American Australian Council The Honorable Marty Russo

The Honorable Marty Russo

Emeritus Board Member
Chief Executive Officer
Russo Capitol Strategies, LLC

Foundation Structure

The parent foundation of the American Australian Council is the American Australian Education and Leadership Foundation, an organization that has been confirmed by the U.S Internal Revenue Service as:

• Exempt from federal income tax under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code

• Not liable for the tax imposed under the Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA)

• Not a private foundation within the meaning of section 509(a) of the Code, and therefore not subject to the excise taxes under Chapter 42 of the Code

Donors may deduct contributions to our Foundation as provided in section 170 of the Code, and bequests, legacies, devises, transfers, or gifts to our foundation or for its use are deductible for federal estate and gift tax purposes.

The Foundation is governed by a board of directors, all of whom are volunteers, and who are responsible for ensuring that an adequate commitment of funding is organized, for organizing the Foundation and taking responsible measures, such as ensuring legal compliance, meeting corporate grant standards under Sarbanes Oxley, adequate insurance coverage, etc. We would be pleased to provide the relevant corporate documents, certifications, tax ID number upon request.